evolving

When did we stop dreaming?

When did we stop dreaming? Why? Were you a child? Or maybe entering adulthood? But why? Why did you fall to the harshness of reality?

 

 

 

As a kid, I had dreams of becoming a lawyer (too many Perry Mason episodes, I guess), but then reality, even in early childhood discouraged me from pursing that because of how long I would be in school, how expensive and how hard it would be.

 

As a teenager entering adulthood, I literally had no idea what I wanted to be when I grew up. No idea for a true to heart career path. In fact, I couldn’t see my future. There wasn’t a white picket fence, there wasn’t an idea of a career to retire from. I was just there. I worked a handful of jobs to make all ends meet & did without when needed.

 

But as an adult, married with kids, and working outside of the home for someone else’s dream – I found myself wondering…what are MY dreams? Is this what I want to be doing for the rest of my life?  I had lived without dreaming for far too long. Each dream terrified me, and I found myself further than ever from being able to achieve it. What did I want to do in life besides just survive? What were my passions? What were my dreams?

 

Ironically, despite our (sometimes even miserable) life situations, society tries to make us feel guilty about dreaming. About wanting more. It’s like we should be 100% content living in tiny boxes, working in tiny cubicles – after all it could be worse. It’s like we aren’t even allowed to “think outside of the box” once we’ve hit adulthood. I truly believe that God did not put us on this earth to be miserable. I mean, how can we be His hands and feet if we are afraid to move our own? How can we show His love when we’re terrified to GROW?

 

Here’s the deal y’all. God does NOT squash your dreams. He did not bring you down to reality. That’s all on the devil. FEAR is a LIAR. God gave you GIFTS to be used, in all different ways, and ways we don’t even understand. And you know what? That’s OK.

 

So take a moment, and allow yourself to DREAM, outside your current reality. If money/time/insert your excuse-reality here were no issue – what would you do with your life? What would you want to accomplish? Experience? Allow yourself to be HOPEFUL of the future, and step outside of your comfort zone, to experience those blessings, to test the waters. God gave us free will, so pray about it, do it & attempt your dreams whole-heartedly. If it’s His will, it will happen, naturally. And if it’s not, keep on dreamin’ until you can find something to do.

 _____________________________

The world needs dreamers and the world needs doers. But above all, the world needs dreamers who do. ~Sarah Ban Breathnach

 

Leave a Reply

