evolving, Uncategorized

Change Starts With You

 Change Starts with You - Randi Elston

 So I really didn’t anticipate jumping right into this subject matter, but here it is. Real talk.

Some might say I had a 30 – something life crisis. I like to think that I woke the heck up.

I’d actually like to take a moment to THANK my illness for my change of heart & mindset. Sounds kind of messed up, right?! Well it’s true. I believe you have to hit ROCK BOTTOM before you realize many truths about life.

Like change for example. Change happens. Things change, people change, jobs change, we change cars, houses, doctors…heck…sometimes we change our minds several times a day.

Something I noticed in my illness though was that I NEEDED change. Needed change from being sick & tired, needed a change in my mindset…but you know what I did instead? I GRIPED about it. E’ry day all day. For a looooong stinking time. Let this be a PSA of thanks to my friends & family that took it like a champ 🙂

Change Starts with You - Randi Elston

And then I complained some more, and wallered in my self pity…because…like how can this many poopy things be happening to me? And then….(I know -how could I possibly be any worse of a person, right?!) I became jealous of those around me that were LIVING life..you know, the people that had it going right for them. And I might have made fun of them & belittled them. There. I said it.

It was U-G-L-Y. I know, you don’t have to tell me.

But then one day I saw the light. You know, the kind that you have to pull up your big girl panties and just deal. The kind where if you don’t like it, you do something about it. I swear that there were angels singing in the background when I had this moment.

So if you don’t like something – your job, your weight, being broke….whatever it is – change it. No one is going to do it for you. Stop expecting luck to find it’s way to you. Good things come to people who make an effort, consistently, and pray really hard. God didn’t give us this life to waste it. Don’t get me wrong…it’s not an overnight success. But just believing in yourself goes a LONG, LONG ways.

Change Starts with You - Randi

So HOW the heck do I make the (impossible feeling) changes?

  1. Write down what problems/issues/struggles you have going on in your life. This is HUGE – you’re putting it on paper & acknowledging it. Boom! It’s right there in front of your face – So whatcha gonna do about it?
  2. Your going to start brainstorming ideas…little changes, big changes, short & long term goals to tackle these things. If it’s eating healthier & losing weight – make a goal to sit down & meal plan before you hit the grocery store – make a long term goal of what you want to lose & HOW you plan on getting there. Be realistic, but push yourself.
  3. This is probably the most dreaded step – where you start freaking out that you “just can’t do this/handle this”…just stop. Instead, ask yourself why you are freaking out, is it a ration or irrational fear? Is it because you fear what other people think? If so, don’t. Your happiness should not be contingent on the opinions of others.
  4. Ok, now that you’re over yourself…Actually put these ideas to action. I know. It’s hard, y’all. But you know what? Life is hard…chose your hards. Your future self will thank you.

 

 

Let me end this by saying, don’t aspire to be just like someone else. Be you. The world doesn’t need 2 of anyone and the grass is always greener where you water it. Change starts with you. Nothing changes if nothing changes. Be the change.

Change Starts with You - Randi Elston

2 thoughts on “Change Starts With You”

  1. Thanks for sharing, Randi! You have been pretty inspirational for me lately and I appreciate you just putting it all out there for the world to soak up and enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

