Food, garden, harvest

Zucchini Alfredo

It sounds weird, I know. But unless I start making zuchhini bread (which I do not have time for), I am already zucchini-ied out this season.

 

Also, in an attempt to eat less meat to make our current stockpile of chicken, pork & deer meat last longer, we’re trying to implement a few more meatless meals throughout the week.

 

So Zucchini Alfredo was invented. This is way better tasting that I imagined when I thought it up. It’s rich, creamy, and nothing like it’s sliced dinner-side friend, sautéed zucchini & onions. It actually doesn’t taste much like zucchini, but adds some extra bulk to your meal in place of the meat, plus all the goodness of a fresh veggie.

 

You’ll have to pardon my photography skills. I take pictures when I remember, with my phone, in a dimly lit kitchen- but you get the idea.

 

Bonus points for using up zucchini for when there is a surplus!

 

Zucchini Alfredo

1 medium to large zucchini, cubed into size you prefer

2 large ripe tomatoes, diced

5+ cloves of garlic, crushed

1/2 stick of butter

1/4 cup of olive oil

2 – 16oz jars of your favorite alfredo sauce

1 – 16oz package of pasta of your choice. I like organic, whole wheat penne.

 

Directions:

Add your cubed zucchini, diced tomatoes, crushed garlic, butter & oil to sauce pan on medium heat. Bring to boil, cover. Stir occasionally until you reach the desired texture of zucchini. (I like it softer, but still with a little bit of crunch) Your tomatoes should reach a very creamy-soupy state as well. I’d say all this happens in about 20 minutes. About halfway through cooking the veggies, add your noodles to boiling water & cook until your noodles are ready to your liking. Drain & set to the side. Add your alfredo sauce to your sautéed veggies & mix well. Then add your sauce to your noodles & mix to ensure all noodles are coated with the creamy goodness.

 

The Elston Family - Zucchini Alfredo

The Elston Family - Zucchini Alfredo

The Elston Family - Zucchini Alfredo

The Elston Family - Zucchini Alfredo

The Elston Family - Zucchini Alfredo The finished product! Delicious!

 

Leave a Reply

