Family, Uncategorized

Lessons in Self Sufficiency

One whisper of a winter storm a-coming & N. Texas shuts down. We brace for it as if it will snow on us for weeks on end. And we sure as heck can’t drive in it. It’s kind of funny to think about it, especially when I talk to my friend that lived in Alaska for a few years about the weather here.

Our first winter storm did blow through. All mean & nasty. And fortunately it didn’t leave much ice in it’s wake. It did tear up the greenhouse/hoop house that was just assembled last week with some ferocious wind, but not beyond repair. And icy tree limbs broke power lines that left a few hundred out of power around us.

Which got me to thinking….

My husband is pulling a 48 hour shift & what am I supposed to do if the power goes out?

Sure we’ve got a stockpile of food, most that could be eaten straight out of the mason jar. But alternative heating? Not so much.

Would we have frozen to death had the power gone out? Not likely. I had plans on taking the kids & driving 15 miles to a family members house that has a wood burning stove that heats their entire home. And they have a gas stove/oven. Fortunately we never had to act on it.

I’m not nearly as self-sufficient as I thought. I’m not prepared for this at all.

And then it crossed my mind….we have a generator in the garage for the camper trailer. And we could totally live in the camper trailer for a long time *if* we had too. I’d actually prefer that too, so that we wouldn’t be dependent on family & everything we need that wouldn’t fit in the camper would be 10 short feet away in the house.

So after thinking long & hard about what we need & need to do if we lose power in the future. I think it all boils down to 1 thing. Gasoline. Gasoline for the generator.

I feel kind of dumb for not even realizing our resources right under my nose, but I’d like to think of this blonde moment as a polite wake up call, because the storms could have been so much worse.

So the next time we get word of winter storms headed our way, I’ll be headed to the gas station 🙂

 

 

3 thoughts on “Lessons in Self Sufficiency”

  1. Sorry to hear about your greenhouse,it was a fierce wind. It picked up my row cover in several places and moved it .

    Randi
    Did you design your blog or use a template,if so where can I find a similar template?
    I would like to set something like this up for the club.

    thanks
    charlie

    Like

    1. Hi Charles! It’s a template through WordPress.org & has been modified with a few “plugins”. I think you could find a free one through the WordPress.com side if your looking for no expenses. I’ll be out of pocket for the next few days for Thanksgiving & processing chickens, but feel free to email me any specific questions you have & I’ll do my best to help 🙂 elstonbackyardfarms at yahoo dot com Happy Thanksgiving!

      Like

Leave a Reply

