Animals, Uncategorized

Two birds down. Dang it.

“Dang it” doesn’t even hit the tip of my frustration.

I let the chickens out of their pen this morning, trying to let them eat more greens, bugs, etc. Trying to let them free-range. Trying to let them be in their “natural” environment.

Lets just say that free-range chickens and our dogs don’t mix. I really thought the dogs were past it. It’s been at least 6 months since the last one met it’s fate & became a chicken dinner.

I feel like this is even more my fault because we haven’t relocated Pat and let’s just say he’s been an active fella struttin’ about the yard. He’s been after then hens, probably making them run, which likely looks like a rotisserie running around the yard for the dogs. He’s even tried to pick a fight with our jack russell, Ringo (which is kept on a trot-line during the day) in the last few days. It was probably a circus back there.

I can’t blame the dogs. But what’s a backyard chicken farmer to do? They left the evidence- 2 piles of feathers scattered- of our 2 youngest birds.

I love our chickens, but I love our dogs too. We’ve had the dogs for 10 years now.

I’m bummed…dang it. Any words of wisdom, advice, or experience would be appreciated now.

Pat IS leaving today.

 

 

Leave a Reply

